Google Engage: Development

After choosing a concept it was time to begin developing it by starting to come up with ideas. I had no idea where to start so I just listed everything that came into my head that could portray mental illness; the one that stood out was a drawing of a line and a squiggle, as its simple yet your mind will make of it what you choose based on whats going on in your head.

Once I’d come up with ideas I used the book ‘100 ideas that changed graphic design’, given to me by Ricardo, along with the squiggle idea, and picked random methods from it, drawing them, trying to make it link to my subject.

The ideas I used were:

  • Colour Blocks
  • Triangulation
  • Pointy Fingers
  • Object Poster
  • Metaphoric Lettering
  • Illegibility
  • Pictograms
  • Layering and Overprinting

(and more)

Screen Shot 2017-03-30 at 13.46.15

I then chose to mock up 3 of the ideas in order to see which ones would work better and which ones I preferred. From the ideas I chose to mock up layering and overprinting, pictograms and triangulation:

Screen Shot 2017-03-30 at 13.46.44

I really did like the colour overprinting, however the pictograms stood out to me more as they were simple but gave off an emotion that can be recognised by all ages.

Leave a Reply

