Design Movements Research

For our first lesson on our new project we all thought it was brief day! Unfortunately it was only a research task, although it will link directly with our project.

We had to look at 20th century art movements and pick 3 that we felt passionate about and wanted to look into for our project. I chose to do pop art, suprematism art and optical art as I really like the bold colours, simple shapes and the distortion of perception.

I trolled through the internet of course but I also went to the library and took out books on each subject, 2 on optical art and one of each for pop and suprematism.

The books gave a great insight into each movement and contained a lot of interesting work. I photocopied pages of work and writing that I found to be of use to me, and were visually pleasing. This research will be the basis of my work.

Hopefully the brief is on the way and we can finally get to work!

Leave a Reply

